You are here

GLSEN New York Capital Region Resources

Local LGBTQA+ Youth-Specific Resources

GLSEN-NYCR SHINE Youth Leadership Team (Leadership Team for youth ages 18 & under)

Pride Center of the Capital Region (LGBTQA+ & Trans Programming for youth ages 19 & under)

 

Local LGBTQA+ Affirming Resources

Albany Damian Center

Alliance for Positive Health

In Our Own Voices 

Hudson Pride Foundation

Hudson Valley LGBTQ Center

Project Hope

Upper Hudson Planned Parenthood (NEW transgender services)

 

Suicide/Self-Harm Resources

The Trevor Project

Trevor Lifeline (866-488-7386) - it's free and available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
TrevorText - Available on Fridays (4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. PT). Text the word “Trevor” to 1-202-304-1200. Standard text messaging rates apply.
TrevorChat - Available 7 days a week (3:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. ET / 12:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. PT). 

Suicide Prevention Lifeline
Toll Free Number (24 hours a day): 1-800-273-8255

 

Trans-Specific Resources

NYSED Guidelines for Supporting Trans & Gender Non-Conforming Students

InterAct Youth

It's Pronounced Metrosexual

Minus 18

Trans Youth Equality Foundation

Trans Youth Family Allies

 

Other LGBTQA+ Resources

Advocates for Youth 

The Family Acceptance Project

GLAAD

The GSA Network

LGBTQ Task Force

PFLAG

 

Inclusive-Curriculum in Schools

American Library Association (GLBT Round Table)

Bank Street LGBT Books for Children

GLSEN Inclusive Curriculum

Rainbow Book List

Teaching Tolerance

We Need Diverse Books

  

If you would like to suggest an additional resource for us to add to this list, or you don't see what you're looking for, please email us at nycr@chapters.glsen.org